Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Indian Premier League 2018

Kane Williamson © Twitter (@IPL)

Sunrisers keep marching on

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson led his team to a tense five-wicket victory after winning the toss and bowling first in their IPL match against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Eden Gardens on Saturday evening.

Full scorecard: KKR v SRH

A superb bowling and fielding display by the visitors restricted the home side to just 138 for eight but the run-chase was not without its stumbles, notably at 55 for three, but the cool Kiwi’s 50 from 44 deliveries took the total to 119 for five before he flicked a full delivery from Mitchell Johnson to square leg.

Yusuf Pathan hooked the final delivery of the penultimate over for six to win the match and finish unbeaten on 17 from just seven balls with two fours and the match-winning six.

Shakib al Hasan (27 from 21 balls) shared in a fourth-wicket partnership of 59 with Williamson which all but sealed victory until the home side fought back in the closing overs to place the result in doubt until the final few deliveries.

KKR opener Chris Lynn threatened to produce one of his best, destructive innings in reaching 49 from 33 balls (7x4, 1x6) but a mistimed drive against left-arm spinner Shakib al Hasan resulted in a return catch and nobody else was able to make a meaningful contribution on an awkward, two-paced pitch.

Giant Australian fast bowler Billy Stanlake (4-0-21-2) was exceptional in intimidating the home side’s top order with consistent speeds of 145 kph but there were no weaknesses in the Sunrisers attack of whom the pick was Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who finished with 3-26 despite bowling a couple of no-balls, one of which would have earned him a wicket in the penultimate over.

New KKR captain Dinesh Karthik scrambled his way to 29 from 27 balls as wickets continued to fall but it was the Sunrisers who dominated the innings – Manish Pandey claiming two brilliant catches to dismiss Nitish Rana (18) at backward point and Andre Russell (9) at extra cover.

Shakib collected 2-21 from his four overs while Afghani legspinner Rashid Khan went wicketless for 31 in his full allocation but could easily have claimed 3-20 on a different day, so well did he bowl.

KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (capt, wk), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Mitchell Johnson, Shivam Mavi, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav

SUNRISERS HYDERABAD: WP Saha (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (capt), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Billy Stanlake


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming